Why I have no desire to straighten my hai

frolength

Hey Curlies!

Let me first just say that I have absolutely nothing against those that straighten their natural hair. I used to straighten my hair every single week and never wore it curly. It was so damaged from heat and broken off because I had no idea how to care for it. Now that my hair is healthy, curly and beautiful, I have absolutely no desire to straighten it.

I have completely fallen in love with my curls and all that comes with it. The good and the bad. Curly hair is so versatile and even on a “bad hair day”, it typically looks pretty good (How ironic). I really don’t mind all of the extra work that comes along with it, because my hair is the healthiest it has ever been! No offense, but straight hair is boring to me. Yes there are some people that straighten their hair for the sake of length checks, and others that just simply love to have straight hair all of the time. Either way, we are all beautiful however we choose to present ourselves, but I choose a big curly fro! Frizz and all! 🙂

I get the question a lot about whether I plan on straightening my hair anytime soon. I usually say “never say never”, but as of right now I do not see myself doing so in the near or far future. Length is obviously something that I want, but it is not my main goal. My goal is to just have healthy hair. Period. My hair was so damaged in the past from heat, why would I want to risk even straightening it once and having to start all over again? I’ll pass. I am the type of person where I would rather be safe than sorry. Straightening my hair is not worth the risk of damage that could potentially happen.

2006. High School Graduation. My hair was somewhat healthy but very long.

My hair was long but very damaged! It eventually started breaking off.

I am loving the process of learning my hair, trying new products and simply watching it grow healthy and strong. So for now I plan on continuing on my natural hair journey as a curly girl ONLY. No straightening necessary! 🙂

frocollage

Yours until further notice,

signature1


Have you straightened your hair since going natural? Why or why not?

12 thoughts on “Why I have no desire to straighten my hai

      • I was blown away!!! I had started to loc my hair in Jan of 2014 and when I took them down in November my hair had doubled ( my locs looked very very short… measured them and they were like 6 inches …take down my hair was 13 inches) so shocked is an understatement …lol

        Like

  1. I’m happy that you’re not straightening your hair. I only had my hair done (professionally) for special occasions. Now, I’ve been 1.5 years with no straightening. I also have no desire to get it straightened. I’m also glad for you becuase your hair is short. Many women don’t feel secure enough to wear their short natural.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment